City of Sturgis
Go To Search
General Information
City of Sturgis Announces new FEMA FIRM Maps
In April of 2006, the City of Sturgis received new Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRM) from The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).  These maps show the flood risk zones applicable to all areas within the Sturgis area.   Flood insurance premiums and requirements are based on the zone where your property is located. 

How zones are defined:  FEMA assigns zones based on the risk of flooding.  Even if a property has never experienced a flood, it may still be in a high-risk area.  

Flood Hazard Zone Requirements:
   Zones A, AE and A1-A30, AH, AO, A99, V, VE  (Mandatory flood insurance purchase
   requirements apply).
   Zone D - possible but undetermined flood hazard.  (Flood insurance is not
   mandatory  but is available).
   Zones B, C, and X Zones outside the 1 percent annual chance floodplain.  (Flood
   insurance is not required).

The 2006 maps are part of a project that originated when the City of Sturgis entered into an agreement with FEMA to update the existing FIRM maps. The City Contracted with Ferber Engineering, located in Rapid City, South Dakota to oversee the Flood Map Project. Once the Engineering Study was complete and submitted to FEMA, the City held several public forums to give property owners a chance to review the areas affected by the new mapping. The 100-year-floodplain classification indicates that a particular land area possesses a 1 percent chance of becoming flooded. The new FIRM increased the 100-year-floodplain areas in Sturgis.

Copies of the current FEMA FIRM maps are available online in PDF format (the links are listed below under FEMA Information).

The FIRM maps and the Title 34 Flood Damage Prevention Ordinance was adopted on April 6, 2009.  Ordinance 

Federal law requires that a flood insurance policy be obtained on all properties located within certain flood zones when a federally-backed mortgage or loan is secured by the building.  However, everyone can, and should, have flood insurance. Even if you don't live in a designated flood zone, you can purchase flood insurance.  Any property can get flooded, and anyone can buy flood insurance. Flood damage is not covered by a standard homeowner's insurance policy. You can protect your home and contents with flood insurance.

Biggert Watters Reform Act of 2012
In 2012, the U.S. Congress made significant changes to the National Flood Insurance Program.  The goal was to make the flood insurance program self-sufficient by making flood insurance premiums line up with actual risks. 

These changes will affect many homeowners who live in areas considered to be at higher risk for flooding.  Premium increases took effect on October 1, 2013.  Primary residences that already had policies based on pre-FIRMS may not see an increase, however, certain conditions may trigger an immediate increase such as:
  *  A policy lapse occurs
  *  Sale of the property takes place
  *  A change to the mortgage takes place, such as re-financing

FEMA Information
FEMA has current information regarding flood insurance on their flood smart website

View a flood map based on your address.

View three videos covering the history of the Flood Insurance Program and the Biggert Watters Reform Act of 2012 and how it can affect your insurance rates and coverage.

To learn more about changes to your policy, visit with your mortgage lender.

Thinking of buying property?  Check with your realtor and your lender to determine current flood map designation and insurance requirements.

FIRM Panels Adopted in 2009

Panel 1

Panel 2

Panel 3

Panel 4

Panel 5

Assistance with map is available by calling FEMA at 1-877-FEMA MAP. 

contact us
City of Sturgis,1040 Harley-Davidson Way, Sturgis, SD, 57785 • Ph: (605) 347-4422 • 

Handicapped IconIn accordance with Federal law and U.S. Department of Agriculture policy, this institution is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, religion, sex, familial status, sexual orientation, and reprisal. (Not all prohibited bases apply to all programs.)