City of Sturgis
Go To Search
Transit (TAXI) License
The City of Sturgis has an ordinance (Title 37 Transit) that requires taxis and other transit services to be licensed if they pick up or drop off a fare anywhere within the City limits.

This ordinance includes but is not limited to cars/trucks/limos/busses/pedicabs and trollies. 

Permanent businesses with a current Sturgis Business License*.
Businesses who include transit services as part of their hotel/motel or campground registration fees.

The licensing process is handled by the Sturgis Finance Office. A current license must be affixed to your vehicle if you are operating within the City limits.  Please contact the Finance Office if you have questions regarding the Transit Ordinance.  605-347-4422

 * If you do not have a permanent Sturgis Business License and you want to operate during the Rally, a Temporary Vending Permit is required in addition to your Taxi License.

How To Get Your License
In order to get licensed, you will need to deliver the completed application packet to the Sturgis Finance Office at 1040 Second Street in Sturgis.  The licensing process can take several days so please apply as soon as you determine that you will be doing business in Sturgis. 

Each packet must contain:

1.  A Transit Business Application.

2.  A Statement of Applicant (owner of the company).

3.  A Statement of Qualified Driver (one for each driver).

4.  Proof of insurance for each vehicle - commercial auto liability coverage of at least $100,000 per person and $300,000 per occurrence, together with property damage coverage of at least $50,000.

5.  Fingerprints**

** Fingerprints of each driver must be provided in a format acceptable to the Sturgis Police Department.  If you need assistance with this, please call the Sturgis Police Department at 347-5070.   

contact us
City of Sturgis,1040 Harley-Davidson Way, Sturgis, SD, 57785 • Ph: (605) 347-4422 • 

Handicapped IconIn accordance with Federal law and U.S. Department of Agriculture policy, this institution is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, religion, sex, familial status, sexual orientation, and reprisal. (Not all prohibited bases apply to all programs.)